Home > Trivia > Being Pro-Active

Being Pro-Active


There was a time

When a degree promised a job

When 36 24 36 was ideal

When one car, one television in a house was luxury (a VCR and an AC would be super rich)

When going to a restaurant once in a week or on the last day of exams was being modern

But that was yesterday … today things have changed 360 degrees and one needs to put lot of extra effort (read extra hours in office, degree from IIM or Paris, take care of home and office etc etc. I know each one of us can add many more) to remain on the higher side of the success ladder!

Now just like you… wanting to be up there on the highest point I also went through many self help books written by Management Gurus – Deepak Chopra, Robin Sharma, Osho or Mitch Albom to inspire myself to do more to get more. All of them were good in their own way talking about Motivation, Communication Skills, Time Management, Positive Attitude & Personality Development.

But in spite of reading from page to page (and sometimes site to site also!), Nirvana was still eluding me!

I was still very far from all my goals – all my expectations.

I didn’t know what I was doing wrong until…I stumbled upon something which looked very simple, needed no wikipedia to understand and no waiting for OM Books annual sale!

I realized that I didn’t do anything unless I found the will to do it from inside myself no matter how good how attractive how appealing the end result was (say loosing inches to fit in the lil black dress… or save money to buy the latest four wheel drive etc etc.)

Now this “will to do” is an old quality nothing new which I have discovered…it has been there forever. It’s a quality which ancient sages and gurus have referred to as the hunger to live – the need to learn – the desire to perform. And no points for guessing that it is the underlying principle which forms the base of all the motivational reading material; all the time management theories and all the workshops aimed at developing personality.

Its then that I figured that all the high profiled concepts were meaningless If I was not willing to get up and practice them Just like a gleaming shining Mercedes is useless if the driver does not want to go anywhere!

So in my quest to ride the success ladder I had come upon the theory of pro activity and it was Eureka!

But then I wondered that since it had to come form inside was it one of those things which were innate and thus you either were pro active or not. Coz if it was so then it was futile going forward.

So I did some more fishing in the ocean of information with the net of google and voila I did manage to get some pearls… some real pointers to develop the “will to do”…to being pro active.

I call it a pointing guide…pointing coz I am no teacher just a learner and hence can only point what I have seen worked for me and for some others to Being Pro Active. Take a look and see if it works for you. Best of luck!

Pointing Guide TO Being Pro – Active

Pointing Guide TO BE PRO ACTIVE

  1. LEAVE PAST
  2. THINK FUTURE

Pointing Guide TO CONTINUE BEING PROACTIVE

  1. BE POSITIVE
  2. RESPOND NOT REACT
  3. CONTROL YOUR RESPONSES
  4. FOCUS ON WHAT’S TO BE DONE
  5. START WORKING (STOP WORRYING)
  6. DREAM
  7. MAKE WISHES
  8. BE GENTLE TO YOURSELF
  9. REWARD YOURSELF

Pointing Guide TO PRO-ACTIVE YOU

  1. NOT EASILY OFFENDED
  2. BOUNCE BACK FAST AFTER BAD TIMES
  3. NEVER LOOSE HOPE
  4. NEVER LOOSE OPPURTUNITIES
Categories: Trivia
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

